2022 Endorsed Candidates


Over four election cycles, Now or Never NC has backed top challengers in the most competitive State Legislative districts to Break the Supermajority, with special thanks to exceptional candidates, their campaigns, and you.

Our alumni now comprise one-third of the Democratic Caucus in State House!

They won seats battling political forces that sought to steer North Carolina away from our forward-looking trajectory as a beacon in the South, and leader in the nation.

Following decennial redistricting, and a presently difficult political environment, our first goal is to protect those gains.

In 2022, their candidacies are our utmost priority, to “Hold the Line” to prevent a Supermajority’s return.

ENDORSED. We’re supremely grateful to endorse our 16 alumni running in new State House and Senate districts. 

We’ve established our “Hold the Line” link on ActBlue to facilitate direct investments in their candidacies.

We’re on a journey home to the forward-looking North Carolina we know. To get there, please join us in making initial investments in these candidacies today.  

Resources: For more information on our endorsed candidates, please see:

Gale Adcock (SD 16) - www.galeadcock.com

Sydney Batch (SD 17) - www.sydneybatch.com

Rachel Hunt (SD 42) - www.rachelhunt.com

Brian Farkas (HD 9) - www.brianfarkas.com

Linda Cooper-Suggs (HD 24) - www.lindacoopersuggs.com

James Gailliard (HD 25) - www.jamesgailliard.com

Terence Everitt (HD 35) - www.terenceeveritt.com

Julie von Haefen (HD 36) - www.juliefornc.com

Joe John (HD 40) - www.joejohnnchouse.com

Cynthia Ball (HD 49) - www.cynthiafornc.com

Ricky Hurtado (HD 63) - www.rickyhurtado.org

Sarah Crawford (HD 66) - www.sarahfornc.com

Mary Belk (HD 88) - www.marybelk.com

Christy Clark (HD 98) - www.christyclarknc.com

Brandon Lofton (HD 104) - www.loftonfornc.com

Wesley Harris (HD 105) - www.harrisfornc.com

___________________

We’re on the cusp of announcing a new slate of endorsed candidates for 2022 beyond existing alumni listed above, but there are 3 very important candidacies for which endorsements cannot wait.

These are our first non-alumni endorsements of the 2022 election cycle!

All 3 candidates support reproductive rights and are running against opponents who do not.

We’re grateful to have worked with each of these candidates in various capacities in prior cycles, and to have experience in their districts as well.

Needless to say, we’re particularly grateful for their candidacies, and are honored to endorse them today. A highly-talented triumvirate.

HD45 (Cumberland County) – Dr. Frances Jackson is a former high school teacher, county magistrate, and transportation and community planner. Her extensive experience in state and local government will make her an excellent member of the NC House of Representatives. We were thankful to support her campaign in 2020.  Now, she’s running in a more favorable district. 

SD18 (Wake and Granville Counties) – Mary Wills Bode is a North Carolina native, non-profit executive director, and attorney. She’s a long time advocate for nonpartisan redistricting reform and of bipartisan solutions, and has headlined Now or Never NC events in the past. This is her first run for elective office. SD 18 is a newly-drawn district, for which there is no incumbent.  

SD7 (New Hanover County) – Marcia Morgan is a retired Air Force colonel, and ROTC instructor who served two tours at the Pentagon. She’s committed to supporting our environment, public education, equality, and the economy. She was selected to run for NC Senate earlier this month after the previous candidate dropped out of the race, a nod to Marcia’s experience in very close races for NC House in prior cycles. Though she’s getting a later start this cycle, she undoubtedly has the foundation to win.

ENDORSE: We heartily endorse Frances, Mary Wills, and Marcia. Please join us in supporting their campaigns financially or via volunteer efforts. 

Read more about their winnable race candidacies by clicking the links in this email. 

Thank you.

Now or Never NC