NNNC Direct



As a volunteer-led organization with limited overhead, NNNC works to maximize the impact of your contribution. If you’d like to donate directly to a specific candidate or candidates (in addition to or instead of Now or Never NC), you can do so here: 


Below are short descriptions of Now or Never NC endorsed candidates whom we have identified as running especially impactful campaigns who would benefit from your support today.

Ricky Hurtado (HD 63: Alamance): Hurtado is the son of working-class immigrants and a first-generation graduate of UNC-Chapel Hill and Princeton. He is a tireless advocate for educational and racial equity, economic security for working-class families, and child well-being. His opponent is a former Wells Fargo bank executive and staunch conservative. 

Nicole Quick (HD 59: Guilford): Quick is a 20-year resident of Guilford County and former manufacturing executive. As a parent of a child with autism, she is passionate about education quality, the environment and voting rights. Her opponent, incumbent Jon Hardister, is the current Republican Majority Whip. With Democratic turnout likely to increase in 2020, this district is ripe for a strong challenger like Quick.

Brian Farkas (HD 9: Pitt): Farkas works for an architecture firm in Pitt County that helps build stronger communities across Eastern North Carolina. He has a long record of public service and is a vocal proponent for independent redistricting reform. The previous state-representative in this district left office to run for Congress and the recently-appointed incumbent has no history of service other than being a large donor. 

Aimy Steele, Ph.D. (HD82: Cabarrus): As a former school principal and mother of 5, Steele is passionate about educational quality and equity. Her opponent was one of the chief Republican budget writers in the last legislative cycle, vocally anti-choice and a fierce supporter of the NRA. This seat is extremely competitive and Democrats have an outstanding candidate in Steele.

Dan Besse (HD74: Forsyth): Besse has spent his career as an attorney focusing on environmental issues and serving five terms on the Winston-Salem city council. Like so many districts, this once grossly gerrymandered district has been redrawn, making it more competitive, which prompted the incumbent Republican not to seek another term. As a familiar figure in the area, Besse is a very promising candidate. 

Gail Young (HD83: Cabarrus): Gail Young spent almost 30 years working in local government gaining excellent budgeting and financial skills. Having lived in Concord for 28 years, her love for her community propelled her into state politics. Her opponent, Larry Pittman, has been accurately described as a gun fanatic, sponsoring numerous bills that would, in just one example, permit loaded handguns into elementary schools. The district is trending quickly and Young is positioned for a very competitive campaign.

Adam Ericson (HD 20: New Hanover): Adam Ericson is a public high school teacher. He believes that the governed deserve real representation, but do not have it today in North Carolina. He is running a bold campaign to invest in North Carolina's education, fight for worker's rights, make health care affordable and ensure a livable climate for our state's next generation. 

Frances Jackson, Ph.D. (HD 45: Cumberland): Dr. Jackson is a native of Cumberland County and a graduate of North Carolina A&T. She has worked in state and local government in Cumberland for much of her career, during which she also earned a Ph.D. in public policy and administration. This district was redrawn and now faces its first competitive election in many years. 

Terri LeGrand (SD 31: Davie & Forsyth): Terri LeGrand originally came to Winston-Salem for law school at Wake Forest, and like many, never left. She has built an unapologetically progressive campaign demanding more ethical behavior in the General Assembly.

Donna Lake (SD 7: Wayne & Lenoir): Donna Lake is a retired Air Force Colonel, combat veteran and professor at the ECU College of Nursing. Her opponent, incumbent Jim Perry, was appointed to his seat after his predecessor retired in office. This race will be a tough one, but Lake has shown that she is well-prepared and energized to win. 

JD Wooten (SD 24: Alamance & Guilford): North Carolina native J.D. Wooten is a former Air Force officer turned trademark and patent attorney. He is stressing education, access to affordable healthcare, and independent redistricting at the center of his platform. 

Allen Wellons (SD 11: Johnston, Nash): Democrat Allen Wellons is an experienced, proven public servant and former three-term state senator. The Republican incumbent declined to run in the updated district. Wellons is a powerful local name in a district where bringing out the Democratic base will be key. 

Tess Judge (SD 1: Eastern NC): Tess Judge is a successful businesswoman, community leader, grandmother to 10 and resident of Dare County for over 30 years. She is widely known as an advocate for small business and the environment. Judge's deep connections with communities across Eastern NC will prove invaluable in dislodging a widely unloved incumbent who is relying on Raleigh PAC money to fund his campaign. 

Jason Cain (HD 51: Harnett, Lee): Jason Cain is a US Army veteran and Special Operations soldier. Having served five combat tours in Afganistan, he has dedicated his career to serving our country and standing up for veteran's rights. His service has extended to his community as an educator, and an advocate for those suffering from the opiate crisis in North Carolina. Cain holds degrees from George Washington and Harvard University and plans to use his diverse experience in public to further serve our State.

Emily Bunch Nicholson (HD 1: Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell): As an educator, mother, and Workforce Development professional, Emily Bunch Nicholson understands the importance of supporting and developing the economy and labor market in Northeastern North Carolina. As a legislator and leader in North Carolina, she will focus on healthcare affordability, access to education, business sustainability, living wages, environmental protection, and sustainable infrastructure.

Kimberly Hardy, Ph.D. (HD 43: Cumberland): Dr. Kimberly Hardy knows firsthand, from her time as an educator and social worker, the impact that a single, dedicated, community member can have. She has worked tirelessly for children, families, and businesses in her district and will take this experience to Raleigh as a legislator.


For any questions, comments, or offers to help- [email protected] or call 919.283.4819.